A Philippians 4:8 Design

About a month ago, my mom emailed me to ask if I’d create a special card for her. She and my dad would be attending a surprise retirement/thank you party for their pastor, and they wanted to make him a personalized card. I asked her what she would like on the front, and from her suggestions, I settled on Philippians 4:8, one of their pastor’s favorite bible verses. It’s a good one, and very humbling:

“Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.”

That’s the NIV version, and I like the ESV version too: “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about such things.” I love that it uses the word “just”.

I stuck with the NIV version for the card. We had just gotten back from vacation and I had to create this card in a matter of days. I love how it turned out:

phil4.8

I’ve been stuck on this font for a little while . . . it’s one of my favorites. I just realized the other day it reminds me of the font Chipotle uses on some of their products, like their drink cups in the stores. You can find the font (called KG Skinny Latte) here.

phil4.8

This is now available on my store as a print, soon to be a card as well. I love the color palette as is, but in my store colors are always customizable! Be sure to take a look.

2 thoughts on “A Philippians 4:8 Design

Leave a Reply

